Excuse my long silence. I had study and exam period and this semester it was too long. To be honest, all the stress and anxiety I tried to fight came back during this time. I tried a lot of things, some worked, some didn’t. In this post, I want to write down my top four methods I do in such situations. Maybe this can be helpful or inspirational to either one or the other.

destress

  1. Take a bath

First thing, that helps me all the time is: taking a bath. Put away your phone or other devices and make yourself comfortable in the bathtub. I prefer taking a salt bath. Not only your skin and your immune system will thank you for taking a saline bath. It’s good for your soul as it helps you to relax. Furthermore, it activates your circulation and therefore gives you more energy.

  1. meditation

Something else you can do to calm yourself down immediately is meditation. I’m not an expert in meditation and you don’t need to be one neither to use meditation for your well-being.

If you haven’t done a meditation before start with some guided programs. You can find great guided meditations on Youtube.com. If you speak German I can also recommend you the app: “7minds”. (I don’t know if there exists an English version). The app offers you free meditation programs for different issues like stress, sleep, health, creativity and so on. You can find more information on this topic in one of my older blog posts, here.

pexels-photo-185801

  1. essential oils

I already did a blog post about essential oils (here). Essential oils in general smell amazing and make you feel very good and relaxed. Besides that, essential oils also offer a variety of health benefit. Lavender oil in this case is anti-anxiety, anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, antibacterial, immune boosting, sedative and many more. It’s perhaps the most effective essential oil out there.

  1. declutter & clean up

sometimes, everything is just too much. Especially during my study and exam periods I have this feeling often. There is just too much I should look at, too much to do, too much to learn. In these cases, I like to declutter and reorganize. I take myself one or two hours of to go through everything I need to do and reorganize my workload newly. Sometimes I plan my studies sometimes I just declutter my office and reorganize everything new so that I have an overview. For everyone who thinks you don’t have enough time for this. You do, trust me. Cleaning up your space does not just allow you to get to see all the work you need to do, it also gives you a better overview to start again and additionally also frees your mind so that after the clean-up you are ready to focus again.

pexels-photo-247232

If you have your special or secret treatments to calm down and/or fight anxiety let me know in the comments. I’m always looking for new ideas and better ways to cope with these bad boys.

2 thoughts on “HOW TO CALM YOURSELF DOWN FROM STRESS OR ANXIETY

  1. Great advice! I’ve been dealing with anxiety for years and it can be a real struggle. I take medication to help control it, but still need to practice other things too. Taking a bath is one of my favourite ways to unwind. I also enjoy going for a walk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

